The Baby Booper Quueen’s Holiday Apricot Cranberry Chutney

315590894_bff7dc1cfc_m.jpg

I love cranberrys and there are so many ways to fix them…this is one of my favorites…

INGREDIENTS
1/4 cup diced dried apricots
2 large apple diced with the skin on [I like McIntosh apples]
1 (12 ounce) package fresh cranberries
1/2 cup raisins, dark or white
3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/8 teaspoon nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
1/4 teaspoon ground allspice
1 pinch ground cloves
1 cup water
3/4 cup white sugar
1/4 cup cider vinegar
1/4 cup of lemon juice
the grated skin of one orange
optional some orange juice~about two tablespoons
optional 1/2 cup of pecan pieces

DIRECTIONS

In a medium bowl, mix together the apricots, cranberries, raisins, apples, gratted skin of an orange, cinnamon, ginger, allspice, nutmeg and cloves.

In a medium saucepan, boil water and sugar, stirring constantly, until sugar is dissolved. Add the dried fruit mixture leomon juice and vinegar. Bring to a boil, reduce heat, and simmer for 10 minutes. Remove from heat, and allow to cool for 5 minutes.

Serve immediately, or refrigerate in a covered container.

I like this served on my apple, or mince meat pies with icecream.
you can also use some of the juice of the orange as well…not too much you don’t want to cut the apricot flavor.

And last but not least you can add pieces of pecan [or walnuts]…being a Southern cook I always add them. I like the crunch and the flavor that they add…

And last but not least you can add rubbarb to this recipe…I love rubbard…I would add a cup of died rubbarb and delete the apricots {or not…I love fruit!}.

415143098_bd4fd61cfc_m.jpg

Happy Holidays
~Sharon~
~The Baby Boomer Queen~

