457459835_2d73999668_m.jpg445455581_1ac84a17ca_m.jpg425093665_e392af2290_m.jpg

Skin Rash

One of the most recognizable symptoms of lupus is the butterfly rash that can occur on the face. It is this rash that also helped name the disease.

The term “lupus” actually means “wolf” in Latin, and the lupus-related butterfly rash actually mimics the markings on a wolf’s face.

Technically the butterfly rash seen on lupus patients is actually called a “malar rash.” The malar rash occurs in 35 percent of lupus patients. It can appear very similar to rosacea, so it is easy to misdiagnose the rash. However, the malar rash does not itch and the nasolabial folds (where the cheek meets the upper lip) are not usually affected.

In discoid lupus patients the skin is often affected by thick, scaly lesions. These lesions do not itch. Under a microscope a doctor will see plugging of hair follicles along with a thick epidermis or atrophy of the dermis.

127282952_a289185ee8_m1.jpg

The lesions can appear similar to rosacea, fungal infections, sarcoidosis, seborrhea, dermatomytosis, and plymorphous light eruption (sun sensitive rash). While these lesions do not itch, they can cause scarring, so immediate medical attention is imperative.

Another type of lupus that affects the skin is subacute cutaneous lupus. This type of lupus appears in 9 percent of lupus patients, and 20 percent of those patients get DLE-like lesions. These lesions look more like psoriasis.

Besides lesions and butterfly rashes, vascular rashes can occur. One-third of lupus patients suffer from Raynaud’s phenomenon in which the fingers turn red, white, and blue in response to cold or vibration.

Raynaud’s can rarely be found in the feet, tongue, tip of the nose, and outside of the ears. Though it may seem that a large number of lupus patients get Raynaud’s, it should be noted that lupus patients only make up 9 percent of Raynaud’s patients.

Another common skin-related effect is livedo reticularis in which a red mottling or lacelike appearance can be seen under the skin. Between 20 and 30 percent of all lupus patients. The condition is a result of a disordered blood flow in the blood vessels just under the skin and is usually due to autonomic nervous system deregulation.

457459843_c95a0fdce7_m1.jpg

While it is not a life-threatening condition, rare cases have led to livedo vasculitis, or superficial skin breakage.

Cutaneous vasculitis, ulcers, and gangrene are another common in lupus patients, with over 70 percent of patients having one or all of the condition. Cutaneous vasculitis causes the superficial blood vessels to become inflamed, and these conditions may indicate that more aggressive treatment is needed, especially if gangrene sets in. Cutaneous vasculitis can appear as red dots, black dots, or hard, painful spots on the skin. If they are left untreated they can result in ulcerations and ultimately gangrene.

Finally, another common skin condition in lupus patients is black and blue marks, or bruises. Since lupus and lupus treatment can affect the blood, the bruising can be a result of abnormal blood coagulation. If they are palpable, it can be a sign of active systemic vasculitis or low platelet counts. If they are not palpable then they are usually a result of non-steroidal anti-inflammatory medication or corticosteroids.

****************
This article is an extract from the ebook Freedom From Lupus!

*************************************************

I have found that rubbing Mona Vie on my rashes, cutaneous vasculitis, subacute cutaneous and scaly lesions helps them.

They recede quicker leave less scarring and make them not itch. Yes, my itch…I don’t know why, but if I touch them they itch AND THEN they get severe.

I have less breakouts as I am getting the correct fruits by drinking Mona Vie. I also am not as depressed, my joints do not ache as much and my joint swelling is not as severe.

Mona Vie has been a life send for me!

The ACAI BERRY is the main ingredient and the fruit blend tastes wonderful…I call it my Jungle Juice since the ACAI BERRY comes from the jungles of South America.

7011_thumb.jpg

I incorporate fish oil in my food…I do not eat red meat and I eat and drink as much fruits and vegetables as I can.

I take natural nutients and suppliments daily.

vitaone-sml.jpgvitagreens-md.jpg

This is where I get mine:
http://www.TheThinCookie.com

I try not to stress and I get as much rest as I am able to do.

I stay out of the sun!

My out breaks are less and not as severe. Add it all together and I am a survivor!

If you need more information, contact me and I will share my experiences and here is a link for the Jungle Juice, as I fondly call it [grins].

http://www.MyMonaVie/SharonSutley

I no longer will give my body steriods or non-steroidal anti-inflammatory medication or corticosteroids. MY T cell count is always extrememly low and have been since i was a child…but I will NO LONGER subject my body to pharmaceuticals!!!

If I can get just ONE person to quit putting poisons into their body, it has all been worth it! Pharmaceuticals has been the catalist to making my Lupus as advanced as it is today…do not become the victim of drugs! Contact me if you have any questions…

Smiles and world peace,
~The Baby Boomer Queen~

